Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


The choice of this structure reflects the emphasis on monitoring quality in the scientific research and on the operational and administrative management of the project, to ensure a smooth execution of all the R&D tasks in SIGMA programme.


Steering Committee


The steering Committee is formed of representatives of the organizations that provide financial support to the SIGMA programme. This Committee is chaired by a person representing EDF. They approve and make decisions on major technical and scientific directions of the research programme, and ensure quality of the strategic management.



edf cea

Senior Hazard Analysis Review Panel-SHARP


The members of SHARP are experts of an internationally recognized stature. They are independent individuals not part of the scientific committee, and are directly engaged in any of the ongoing programme research. They provide a critical review on the scientific advances of the research program. Their duty is inform the steering committee on the scientific validity and appropriateness of the results of the research, and to identify weak points, strong points, and the gaps in the research.



Project Group


The Project Group is composed of the project leader and the Work Package leaders and their associates.


Project Leaders: Gloria Senfaute (EDF)

They implement the scientific and technical directives of the Steering Committee, provide management support to the Work Package leaders to ensure that they can complete their tasks, monitor the costs and ensure that the schedule is respected. They Keep the Steering Committee informed of any cost and/or schedule deviation and propose remediation solutions, develop and facilitate the technical reviews, and foster a good dissemination of the knowledge created in the programme.


WP leaders and their associates
They manage the scientific tasks, define and coordinate the partnerships necessary to complete the tasks (doctoral theses, subcontracts, etc.), monitor and ensure good progress in the Work Package, write detailed and summary progress reports in support of the technical reviews.


WP1: Seismic Source


WP2: Prediction models


WP3: Site effects


WP4: Hazard Model


WP5: Exploitation of Seismic Ground Motion

Scientific Committee members


This committee is formed of personalities from academics and industry which are engaged in the scientific activities of SIGMA programme. The expertise of the members is covering all the fields of SIGMA research. They perform progress reviews of the technical and scientific quality of the research, ensure that the efforts are going in the directions defined in the work plan, and if necessary propose changes and/or redirections to the R&D programme. They also provide a review of all the deliverables to give guaranties on the scientific quality of the products.

  1. BARD Pierre Yves : ISTerre (Institut des  Sciences de la Terre, Grenoble)
  2. BELLIER Olivier : CNRS/Université Paul Cézanne, Aix-En-Provence
  3. CAMELBEECK Theirry: Royal Observatory of Belgium
  4. FACCIOLI Ezio : Politecnico Milano
  5. GRANET Michel : EOST(Ecole et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre, Strasbourg)
  6. MOCZO Peter: University of Bratislava
  7. DOUGLAS John: BRGM (Bureau de Recherche Géologique et Minière)
  8. MUCCIARELLI Marco: University of Potenza
  9. PACOR Francesca: INGV (Instituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia,Milano)
  10. PAOLUCCI Roberto : Politecnico Milano
  11. PECKER Alain : Géodynamique et Structure (Chairman)
  12. SAVY Jean: SRC (Savy Risk Consulting – USA)
  13. SCHERBAUM Frank: University of Postdam (Allemagne)
  14. VALENSISE Gianluca : INGV (Instituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Rome
  15. GORDON Woo
  16. AYBARS Gurpinar
  17. BAUMONT David: FUGRO